DWI/DUI Penalties in New York

Fight Your Charges with a Top-Rated Attorney

It is always worth it to fight your DWI/DUI charges. The penalties for such convictions can be steep and change your life in many negative ways. Not only will you potentially be subject to fines, jail time, license suspension, and more, you will also have to face strained or impaired personal and professional relationships. In some cases, you may even have trouble finding employment due to your charges.

At the Law Offices of Robert Tsigler, PLLC, our criminal defense firm believes in putting the client first at all times. We are available 24/7 to provide understanding legal guidance and aggressive representation. For client convenience, we speak Spanish, Mandarin, Russian, and Hungarian! We are proud to fight for the best possible outcome on each client’s behalf.

We Set the Bar Others Strive to Reach

With thousands of cases handled, you can trust our experience and successful track record. Contact our firm today to speak with a skilled New York DWI attorney.

New York Look-Back Period

New York is particularly complicated when it comes to the “look-back” period of a DWI charge. A look-back period is the amount of time that prior DWIs will stay on your record in order to determine whether a DWI conviction is going to be considered your 1st, 2nd or 3rd conviction and so on. In New York, the look-back period can stretch from four to 25 years depending on the details of your case.

First Offense DWI/DUI Penalties

Possible penalties for your first DUI conviction may include:

  • Jail Time: No minimum jail time required
  • Fines: $500-$1,000
  • License Suspension: 6-month minimum
  • Ignition Interlock Device Required: Yes

Second Offense DWI/DUI Penalties

Possible penalties for your second DUI conviction may include:

  • Jail Time: 5 days in jail or 30 days community service
  • Fines: $500-$5,000
  • License Suspension: 1-year minimum
  • Ignition Interlock Device Required: Yes

Third Offense DWI/DUI Penalties

Possible penalties for your third DUI conviction may include:

  • Jail Time: 10 days in jail or 60 days community service
  • Fines: $500-$10,000
  • License Suspension: 6-year minimum
  • Ignition Interlock Device Required: Yes

Call a New York DUI Attorney to Discuss Your Legal Options!

We understand that being charged with a DWI is a frustrating and stressful situation. You can count on the team at the Law Offices of Robert Tsigler, PLLC to uphold your rights and make sure that you are protected to the full extent of the law. We offer free case evaluations to help you get started, so don’t hesitate to get in touch with us!

Call (718) 878-3781 for more information about your case.

CONTACT US TODAY TO SCHEDULE YOUR INITIAL FREE CONSULTATION