Available 24/7

Jersey City
Sexual Assault

Jersey City Sexual Assault Attorney

Defending Charges of Assault, Rape, Abuse, & More

If you have been charged with a sexual assault crime in Jersey City, such as sexual harassment, rape, or other crimes related to sexual misconduct, then a conviction could have serious consequences on both your personal and professional life. A knowledgeable and skilled Jersey City sexual assault lawyer from the Law Offices of Robert Tsigler, PLLC, can listen to your story, analyze your case, gather the associated details, and help you move forward with a strong legal strategy to optimize your case outcomes.

The criminal defense team at the Law Offices of Robert Tsigler, PLLC, represents clients in Jersey City and the surrounding areas who have been accused of sexual assault crimes. Our team has decades of combined experience in employing sound legal and defense strategies to fight back against sexual assault charges. As our staff understands the high stakes associated with such charges, we put all our talent and resources behind each case.

Jersey City Sexual Assault Lawyer

Understanding Sexual Assault Charges in Jersey City

The laws for sexual assault sex crimes committed in Jersey City and the state of New Jersey are complex. Therefore, individuals facing sexual assault crimes may be unsure about the charges they are facing and the potential penalties that they may have to endure if convicted. 

Sexual assault in Jersey City is defined according to a wide range of scenarios in the state, but it ultimately involves instances of criminal sexual contact or penetration. Sexual assault crimes in the state are categorized according to their severity, with first-, second-, third-, and fourth-degree charges.

If you have been charged with sexual assault in New Jersey, it’s important to act fast to get legal representation, as a conviction can lead to anywhere from 18 months to decades in prison, depending on the charges. It’s important to note that there are defense strategies that can be optimally implemented to fight back against these charges, such as:

Aggravated Sexual Assault in the First Degree in New Jersey

Aggravated sexual assault in the first degree is considered to occur under the following circumstances:

There are multiple other acts that can qualify as being aggravated sexual assault in the first degree.

Convictions for aggravated assault in the first degree are severe. They can range from 10 to 25 years in prison, depending on the case. If you suspect that you are under investigation for having committed first-degree aggravated sexual assault, or if you are already facing these charges, it is critical to contact an experienced and skilled criminal defense lawyer.

A seasoned attorney can help you plan and implement a defense strategy. They can also help work to get your charges dropped or reduced. If you are convicted by overwhelming evidence, your lawyer can work to appeal the case or negotiate a lesser sentence with the judge presiding over your case.

Sex Assault FAQs

Q: What Is Considered Sexual Assault in New Jersey?

A: In New Jersey, sexual assault is considered to be committing an act of sexual contact or penetration that uses physical force or coercion. It is also committed if the victim is from a vulnerable category, such as a child. In New Jersey, sexual assault is categorized according to four different degrees. New Jersey sexual assault crimes are highly penalized in the state due to the sensitive nature of these offenses, along with the severe negative mental and physical impacts that they have on the victims.

Q: Is There a Statute of Limitations on Sexual Assault in NJ?

A: In the state of New Jersey, there is no statute of limitations for sexual assault criminal cases. This means that individuals who have fallen victim to a sexual assault crime in New Jersey can come forward with charges years and even decades after the instance occurred. However, if victims come forward later, they decrease their chances of winning their case, as gathering key evidence, such as DNA testing and eyewitness testimony, is much more difficult.

Q: What Is Second-Degree Aggravated Sexual Assault in NJ?

A: In New Jersey, a second-degree aggravated sexual assault crime is a very serious offense. It can be characterized by different situations, including sexual contact that involves a victim who is under the age of 13 if the perpetrator is at least 4 years older than the victim. Sexual penetration in other various circumstances, such as if the perpetrator uses physical force or coercion, is under probation, or holds authority over the victim, is also considered second-degree sexual assault.

Q: What Is Third-Degree Aggravated Sexual Assault in NJ?

A: In New Jersey, a third-degree sexual assault aggravated crime is a serious crime that can apply to multiple scenarios, including:

  • The victim of sexual contact is between the ages of 13 and 16, and the perpetrator is blood-related to the victim.
  • The perpetrator has authority over the victim.
  • The perpetrator is a parent, legal guardian, or parental figure to the victim. 

If the act of sexual context takes place during the commission of certain crimes, such as kidnapping or robbery, it is also considered third-degree aggravated sexual assault.

Protect Your Rights and Interests With a Sexual Assault Criminal Defense Lawyer

A conviction for sexual assault in New Jersey can result in exorbitant fines, extended periods in jail or prison, having to register as a sex offender in the state, and other collateral damages. Therefore, it is critical to start fighting back against these charges as soon as the defendant is aware of them. 

If you are facing sexual assault charges in New Jersey, a dedicated and experienced sexual assault criminal defense lawyer from the Law Offices of Robert Tsigler, PLLC, can represent you. Our firm can help you get the support that you are entitled to under the law. Reach out to a lawyer from our team today to get started.

Play Video
Client Accused of Rape After Meeting on a Dating App

We Set the Bar Others Strive to Reach
The Sex Crime Law firm of Robert Tsigler, PLLC is Ready to Fight for You!

If you have any questions about a pending charge, reach our staff 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 718-878-3871. Schedule your consultation today.

Contact Our Firm
Schedule an initial consultation to
discuss your case right away.
Translate »